EAPIL Young Research Network

Background and Objective

Despite common rules, mutual interests, and similar challenges, a pan-European discussion of private international law issues among ‘junior faculty’ has long been missing. To fill this gap and to encourage the academic discourse within the ‘junior faculty’, the EAPIL Young Research Network aims at providing a forum for young scholars where they have the possibility to meet and to exchange ideas on PIL irrespective of the constraints of academic hierarchy.

This purpose, of course, does not exclude the possibility of common projects between senior and junior faculty; on the contrary, this would be highly desirable. Nevertheless, the Research Network intends to provide a forum for young scholars to get together, discuss ideas and develop independent projects in order to encourage pan-European research synergies already at an early career stage.

The Research Network was established in April 2019 in Würzburg and integrated into the European Association of Private International Law as an Activity of the EAPIL in 2020.

Research Projects

The first project of the Research Network was organised by Susanne Gössl (Germany) and Martina Melcher (Austria). It focused on the implementation of the ECJ/ECtHR case law related to the “recognition of status” in 16 EU Member States. It resulted in a conference and a workshop at the University of Würzburg in April 2019 (a conference report was published in IPRax 2019, 576), and also led to the formal establishment of the Research Network. Participants represented more than 20 jurisdictions and enthusiastically embraced the opportunity for such an enhanced exchange at the junior faculty level.

The second project, organised by Tamás Szabados (Hungary), focused on “overriding mandatory provisions in autonomous private international law of the EU Member States”. It resulted in a general comparative report based on various national reports drafted by young researchers. The main research outcomes – together with some selected, individual contributions to the topic (e.g. Overriding Mandatory Provisions in the Context of the Covid-19 Pandemic, the Treatment of Mandatory Rules of Third Countries) – have been discussed at a Webinar hosted by ELTE Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, in November 2020 and have been published in the ELTE Law Journal 2020/1.

The third project is being organised by Tobias Lutzi (Germany), Ennio Piovesani (Italy), and Dora Rotar (Croatia). It will focus on the national rules on jurisdiction in civil and commercial matters over non-EU defendants, in light of the report envisioned in Article 79 Brussels Ia Regulation.

Membership and Participation

Members can be PhD students, postgraduate researchers and other academic staff, except full professors or equivalent in terms of student/PhD/post-doc supervising duties, and practitioners under the age of 45.

As the activities of the Research Network are individual projects on specific questions, each member may decide whether to actively participate in a particular project (e.g. by drafting a country report or delivering a lecture or presentation) or not. For each project, one or several ‘head(s) of the project’ are responsible to organise the exchange in general, including the communication with the members regarding participation, the related conference and/or workshop, and the publication of the research outcome. The member responsible for the project concerned may be assisted by other members and duties and responsibilities may be shared in accordance with the needs of the respective project.

We cordially invite junior scholars of universities or research institutions and young practitioners who are interested in the activities of the Research Network to join us. Any member of the Research Network will receive information on current and future projects, may participate at a particular project or even organise their own project. To become a member, please contact us via e-mail at youngresearch@eapil.org.

Ideas for new projects and volunteers who want to lead a project are also highly welcome!


The EAPIL Young Research Network is currently chaired by: