The history of the Association

In March 2018 more than 100 scholars from all over Europe gathered in Berlin for a conference devoted uniquely to European Private International Law, titled How European is European Private International Law? The proceedings of the conference, edited by Jan von Hein, Eva-Maria Kieninger and Giesela Rühl, have subsequently been published by Intersentia.

After two days of intensive discussion there was broad agreement that the exchange of views should continue and that a more structured approach was necessary. Therefore, a steering committee was set up in 2018 for the purpose of creating the European Association of Private International Law.

The members of the committee were: Apostolos Anthimos (Greece); Sabine Corneloup (France); Gilles Cuniberti (Luxembourg); Morten M. Fogt (Denmark); Pietro Franzina (Italy); Agnieszka Frackowiak-Adamska (Poland); Jan von Hein (Germany); Thomas Kadner Graziano (Switzerland); Eva-Maria Kieninger (Germany); Johan Meeusen (Belgium); Pedro de Miguel Asensio (Spain); Dário Moura Vicente (Portugal); Marta Requejo Isidro (Luxembourg); Giesela Rühl (Germany).

The steering committee held meetings in Luxembourg (2018), Paris (2018) and Milan (2019).

The Association was eventually created in 2019 as a non-profit organisation (association sans but lucratif) under the law of Luxembourg.

The Statutes of the Association are available here.