The governing bodies of the Association

The Board of Administration

The Board of Administration of the European Association of Private International Law currently consists of five members: Gilles Cuniberti, Morten Midtgaard Fogt, Giesela Rühl, Pietro Franzina and Apostolos Anthimos. 


The President of the Association, and Chair of the Board, is Gilles Cuniberti. Gilles is Professor of Comparative and Private International Law at the University of Luxembourg. He has been a member of several expert groups set up by the European Commission to propose new regulations of EU private international law, including on the European Account Preservation Order and on the Third Party Effects of Assignments of Claims. He was educated at Paris I (Panthéon-Sorbonne), Oxford and Yale.  


The Vice-President of the Association is Morten Midtgaard Fogt.

Secretary General

The Secretary General of EAPIL is Giesela Rühl. Giesela is a Professor of Private International and Comparative Law at Humboldt-University Berlin. She is author and editor of books, articles and book chapters on European private international law, including the 4-volume Encyclopedia of Private International Law (Edward Elgar, 2017). In addition she is an editor of, a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, the European Law Institute as well as the International Academy of Comparative Law.

Deputy Secretary General

The Deputy Secretary General is Pietro Franzina. Pietro is a Professor of Private International Law at the Catholic University of the Sacred Heart in Milan. He authored and edited several works in the field of private international law. He served as an expert for the Italian Ministry of Justice and took part on behalf of the Italian Government in meetings of the European Judicial Network in Civil and Commercial Matters and the Hague Conference on Private International Law. He acted as co-rapporteur of a European Law Institute’s project on the protection of adults in international situations.


The Treasurer of the Association is Apostolos Anthimos. Apostolos is an attorney at law in Greece. He holds a PhD in International Civil Litigation and earned Masters of Laws from the Universities of Hanover and Thessaloniki. He authored monographs, articles and book chapters on European private international law. He teaches Civil Procedure, ADR, and the Law of Succession at the European University of Cyprus. He has been a member of the EU expert group on the Modernization of Judicial Cooperation in Civil and Commercial Matters. He is an editor of and runs his own blog, International Civil Litigation in Greece, featuring reports on Greek case law.

The Scientific Council

The current members of the Scientific Council of the Association are Apostolos AnthimosSabine CorneloupGilles CunibertiMorten Midtgaard Fogt, Pietro FranzinaAgnieszka Frąckowiak-AdamskaJan von HeinThomas Kadner GrazianoEva-Maria KieningerJohan MeeusenPedro de Miguel AsensioDário Moura VicenteMarta Requejo Isidro and Giesela Rühl.